About the Website

Northern Colorado Front Range Area
For purposes of this website, we have defined the northern Front Range of Colorado area to extend from the Colorado-Wyoming border to the north and south along the front range mountains to the southern border of Park County (west of Colorado Springs), which includes the following counties: Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson, Larimer, and Park.

This area encompasses five biologic life zones; plains, foothills, montane, sub-alpine and alpine, and explains, at least in part, why Boulder County, in the center of the defined area, has had over 200 species identified. In the designated northern Front Range area, there have been reported sightings of approximately 226 species (CHECKLIST), based on information from the website: Butterflies and Moths of North America.

Get Involved!
This website includes information on only some of the species in the checklist. We hope over time to have photos and information posted for as many species as possible including adults, caterpillars and eggs. This will only happen with broad participation within the butterfly community and nature lovers in general. We encourage advice, support and contributions from professional lepidopterists, nature photographers, butterfly watchers and enthusiasts, which will help us create a community website of benefit to everyone. Your input and resource contributions are encouraged and appreciated. All submitted and approved images will be credited.

Copyright Statement
For further information on copyright and/or use of specific images, please contact us.